Too Many Excuses

“Excuses are like armpits, everyone has them and they all stink” -Chad Lemons

The quote above was from my high school water polo coach and man did I hear it a lot. And, when I actually thought about it, it makes a lot of sense. People find excuses for everything. Excuses why they were late, why dinner wasn’t ready, why they forgot to take out the trash. Another common reason for excuses; why I am not losing weight.

I spend my weekend doing many random things, and during this time I saw a countless number of overweight people, and I don’t mean a few pounds over weight. On seeing this, my wife made the comment, “I would feel so embarrassed if I were that heavy.” However, if she was that heavy I feel like she would almost fit in more than if she were in good shape, like she is. It is normal now to be overweight or obese. The CDC (Center For Disease Control) has estimated that by the year 2030 86% of adults will be overweight, 51% of adults will be obese, and 30% of children will be overweight. And if your are not overweight and you are reading this, these statistics effect you too. Tax payers pay $350 billion dollars for problems that are causes by the overweight/obesity epidemic. Why is this? Do people just feel better about themselves when they are overweight? Is it something that kids grow up wanting to be? I sure hope not. I personally blame it on a few things and one of them being EXCUSES.

I don’t have time to workout. It is easier to go get a McDonalds hamburger. I am too tired. I have no motivation. Blah blah blah. These are all excuses. The definition for the word excuses is: “A reason or explanation put forward to defend or justify a fault or offense”. I feel that people are just trying to justify themselves for being overweight. There is always a reason for their actions, however they never want to change their actions. They are fine with the way they are living. But then they ask themselves why they are so heavy, why their joints always hurt, why they can’t sleep well, why they have to take so many medications for high blood pressure, high cholesterol, or diabetes. All these questions can be summed up in one short answer…you are overweight.

It is time to stop making excuses and start changing your life. I would like to think that there i not one overweight person out there who would say they feel so much better about themselves and so much more healthy being overweight. Rome was not built in a day, and neither was your body. Yes, it is going to be hard to get healthy again. But when it is all over, you are going to feel so much better. You will be able to spend more time with your family, you will be a better example for your children and you will be able to play with them, you will save money on all your medications.

There are so of you that are saying, “I just can’t do it. I have tried and nothing seems to work.” Did you really change your diet? Did you really give your workouts all your effort? YOU CAN DO IT. There are so many people that would love to help, and most of them will help FOR FREE.

Now stop making excuses and get out there and get healthy. Post a comment about your goals, what workouts you are doing, what is keeping your motivated, or your reason for wanting to get healthy. Lets us this post as a place to find motivation. Lets help each other stay accountable. I promise, once you reach your goals you will never want to go back.

Leave a Reply

